Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Audience

Faculty(tick)
Staff(tick)
Students(error)
Others(error)

Step-by-step guide

Overview

This allows you to empty a course of user data, while retaining the activities and other settings. 

Step 1: Open Moodle Course

Log in and go to the course you want to reset.  Important Note:  reset a course when all grades have been posted in Sonis and made official.  Resetting a given activity is irreversible. 

Step 2: Access Reset Settings

Click on the gear button located on the right side of  the 'Turn editing on' button.  On the menu click 'Reset'.

Step 3: Select Options

You can set a new Course Start Date for the freshly reset course.  Check the box for all delete items; Calendar events, notes, comments, completion data, blog and competency ratings.


Roles

Select the 'Student' role and check the 'Delete all local role assignments'.

Gradebook

The Gradebook reset options allow you to delete all gradebook items and categories and/or delete all recorded grades within the course. There are two options for gradebook reset:

Delete all grades - Removes all manually added grade items within the course together with grades and data on overridden, excluded, hidden and locked grades. Please note activity grade items are not removed in this option.

Delete all items and categories - Remove all categories and related manually added grade items together with grades and data on overridden, excluded, hidden and locked grades. Please note activity grade items are not removed in this option.

Groups

The Group reset options provides you with the ability to delete all groups created in the course and/or remove all users from any groups within the course.

You can also delete all groupings created in the course and/or remove all users from any groupings within the course.

Feedback

If you use the Feedback activity to collect survey data, make sure to check each box to clear the submission data. 


Forums

If forums are used in the course check the box to 'Delete all posts'. 

Quizzes

To clear exams/quizzes check all boxes. 

Assignment

To clear assignment data check all boxes. 

Step 4: Reset Course

Click on the 'Reset Course' button and click 'Continue'.